Is chocolate vegan? The answer may surprise you! While most chocolates contain dairy in the form of milk powders, there are also many varieties of vegan-friendly chocolate (including Pure Heavenly's own chocolate) that are perfect for the vegan pallet. For those looking to enjoy a delicious sweet treat while adhering to their dietary restrictions, this is great news!
What makes chocolate vegan-friendly?
Chocolate is a beloved treat for many, but vegans often must be more selective about what type of chocolate they can enjoy. To be considered a vegan product, the chocolate must not contain any animal products or dairy products such as milk, butter, cream, or eggs. In addition, it must not involve any animal testing or exploitation for it to be deemed a suitable vegan treat.
Fortunately, there are a variety of vegan-friendly chocolates available on the market today that are 100% cruelty free and delicious! Companies such as Pure Heavenly have created a line of plant-based chocolates with a diverse vegan flavors range that are sure to satisfy any sweet tooth. Whether you’re a lover of all things milk chocolate, love a bar of dark chocolate, or even have a taste for a bar that contains beautifully different flavourings, getting a vegan chocolate fix has never been easier.
What ingredients go into the Pure Heavenly Vegan Chocolate?
The Pure Heavenly Vegan Chocolate is a great choice for those looking to adhere to their dietary restrictions while still enjoying a delicious treat. This chocolate bar is made with only the finest ingredients and uses 100% cruelty free methods in its production process. The main ingredients of this vegan-friendly chocolate are cocoa butter, cacao powder and natural flavouring to create a plant-based dairy-free chocolate that will tantalise your taste buds for long time to come.
In addition to this, all Pure Heavenly bars contain less than 1% sugar and use natural sweeteners such as Inulin and Erythritol to give that perfect mouth feel. All these ingredients are carefully selected from sustainable suppliers to ensure we create a bar that has a smooth and creamy texture and the perfect substitute for many non-vegan bars.
Are some types of chocolate more vegan friendly than others?
If you're looking to play it safe, then the best type of chocolate to traditionally opt for is dark chocolate. This is the most natural form of chocolate and generally contains a stronger number of cocoa solids (50% - 90%) with just cocoa butter and sugar added.
When you compare this with many of the dairy ingredients that go into milk and white chocolate, there is a lot less chance of animal derived products being present within the ingredients, as these 2 forms of confectionary often use a lot more dairy.
However, it's not safe to predict that this is always the case as dark chocolate bars from Cadbury's, Nestle and Lindt all contain milk powders at some level. If in doubt, always do your research into the individual ingredients before purchasing from the best vegan chocolate brands to ensure that your chosen vegan dark chocolate is perfect for your lifestyle.
What are the benefits of eating vegan-friendly chocolate?
One of the biggest benefits to eating vegan-friendly chocolate is that it is a healthier option compared to non-vegan chocolates and is a safe bet for a lot of different food allergies. Vegan chocolates generally contain less sugar and contain fewer additives, which means they are better for your health in terms of both calories and nutrition. In addition, many vegan chocolates contain more cocoa solids which is beneficial for your overall health.
Eating vegan-friendly chocolate also means that you are supporting sustainable practices and cruelty free production methods and helping to reduce the amount of animal exploitation in the world, as many non-vegan chocolates involve animal testing or exploitation at some level.
So, for those looking to treat themselves to something sweet every now and then, indulgent vegan chocolates are a healthier and more ethical alternative!